Weekday Mindful Eater in College: The Economics of my food

What does it mean to eat for me, here in college life? After reading Warren Balasco’s book “Food: The Key Concepts“, I wanted to apply his Mindful Eating assignment as “a step toward more consciousness” in my life as an undergraduate in college. So, I recorded different things about my weekday meals. I did not track the nutritional facts. Instead, I focused more on economics, time, phycology of eating.

Economics of my food
It was hard to track the economics of my food since I was living in Co-Operative house which bought most of my food with rent money. Although I could always eat for “free” at home, I am not a fan of packing PB & J that just gets hot and nasty in my backpack come lunch time. I was told that approximately the Co-Op spent about 4 dollars a day to feed me.
So, I tracked all the prices of all the foods I bought outside of the home. Beside rent, most of my weekly budget as a college student is allocated to food. About 70 dollars (10 bucks a day mindset) is the maximum I would like to spend, but when you are on constant move, eating out for lunch is 10 bucks alone. A lot of college kids might argue that 10 bucks for a single meal is ridiculous and uneconomical, but I have learned that spending 3 or 4 dollars a day on “two for one” pizza sticks or Wendy’s 99cent menu is a dangerous trick.

MON $17
TUE $16.50
WED $12.50
THURS $18.5
FRI $46.50 (25 of that on beer, plus a $9 taxi)
Total: $111 ($131 with Co-Op food)

Average: $22.20
How much that would cost a semester: Just about $2,500
During undergrad years: $32,412

Yet, sometimes alcohol can add up, as we see with my Friday evening. I guess I am left with the question, “Should alcohol (and transportation) be included in the food budget or the recreational budget?”
Is this a lot for food? What do you all spend?

Next Post, we can talk about I will talk about the time aspects that I recorded, since time is money baby!

Leave a Reply

